The Music Academy, Chennai announces its awards for 2018

At a meeting held on July 16, 2017, The Music Academy, Madras has announced that 'Chitravina' N Ravikiran has been chosen for Sangita Kalanidhi Awards and for presiding over the Academy's 91st annual conference to be held from Dec.15, 2017 to Jan. 1, 2018.

The award will be conferred on him at the Sadas to be held on Jan.1, 2018.

The other awards to be conferred at the conference are:

Mridangam vidwan V Kamalakar Rao and vocalist Radha Namboodiri will be awarded 'Sangita Kala Acaharya' award.

TTK Awards will be presented to ghatam vidushi Sukanya Ramgopal and Oduvar Muthu Kandasamy Desikar.

Dr. T.S. Sathyavathi will receive the Musicologist Award
The Papa Venkataramiah Award for violin will be given to Tiruvallur Parthasarathy.

The Natya Kala Acharya award is renamed as 'Nritya Kalanidhi' and will go to Lakshmi Viswanathan. This award will be conferred on the artiste at the inauguration of the Dance Festival on Jan. 3, 2018.